Showpad cares about your privacy and the privacy of your prospects. Depending on how your administrator configured the privacy settings according to local legislation and company policies, your prospects might need to give consent before viewing the content you share. In this article, we explain what you see on our different platforms and what your prospects experience when opening the shared content.
As privacy requirements are subject to change, Showpad is constantly monitoring and updating its privacy program to meet the ongoing and evolving legal requirements and to help its customers in their compliance efforts. To that goal, we have updated the Showpad platform privacy notice following a recent ruling from the European Court of Justice. In addition to requesting permission to analyze the interaction of the recipient with the content shared and to use a cookie in that process, the privacy notice now makes it clear that the cookie is valid for 14 days and after that time period, consent will be requested again. The new privacy notice details what activities the cookie tracks and why, and informs the recipient of the possibility of opting out to view the content anonymously.
Our legal team has recently made sure that the use of Showpad is also in line with the requirements of the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA).
Note: You, as a user who signs in to Showpad, always has to give consent. This applies to the Web app, our mobile apps, email plugins, and all integrations.
See how it looks
- Depending on what the administrator decided, prospects might need to give consent as well when opening shared content
- Prospects see the consent message in their preferred language, based on their browser settings
You need this to succeed
- Access to the Showpad Web app, mobile apps, email plugins, or integrations
- Check with your administrator or legal department if you want to know how consent options were set up for your prospects
The legal way to awesomeness
- Open the Showpad Web app, mobile apps, email plugins, or integrations
- Share content
- Understand that your prospects might see a consent window when opening your shared content
- Depending on the prospect browser settings, they will see the consent message in English, French, German, Dutch, Czech, Russian, Spanish, Italian, Turkish, Chinese (simplified), Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil)
Choose your success platform
Giving consent when signing in on iOS
Giving consent when signing in on Android
- Consent window on Showpad for Outlook:
- Consent window on Showpad for Gmail:
Understand how prospects give consent
- A privacy disclaimer at the bottom of the email prospects receive, sent out after sharing.
- A privacy disclaimer in the Shared Content Viewer. That's the page where prospects see your shared content. This disclaimer is visible in a blue bar at the top.
Note: This mandatory consent window is always visible when a prospect opens and registers on a shared space for the first time.
- No consent window. In this case, your prospect won't see a dialog box to give consent. Consent will thus occur implicitly.
Understand that prospect data in the Share tab might be anonymous
After a period of inactivity, personal data in insights and shares will be anonymous and will no longer be linked to a prospect. If the prospect interacts again with the shared content, the counter resets. Contact your administrator to see how it was configured for your organization.
Understand that prospect data in the Share tab might not be available
If your prospects see the optional consent window, as configured by your administrator, they might not give consent when opening your share. In this case, they will see your content but you won't be able to track their activities. In the Share tab, you will see no activity if it's set up this way. When in doubt, contact your administrator to see how it was configured for your organization.