The world of sales can be a whirlwind. People come and go as quickly as leads are created and contacted. As an admin, that can be a lot of pressure to get things back on track when changes occur. We have a lot of experience with maintaining Showpad, here at...well, Showpad. Our best practices for offboarding a sales rep (and your options) are below for your convenience and sanity!
When a user leaves your company, you have two options:
You can delete the user from Showpad’s online platform
You can deactivate the user from Showpad temporarily
Here’s the scoop on either and more information on both options.
Deleting a user from Showpad’s Online Platform
This is the permanent solution to an employee’s departure. Think of it as taking their Showpad employee folder and shredding it. There’s no recovering their data. You can, of course, start a fresh folder for them by adding them back as a new user. But the previous data and instance they had from Showpad before will be gone for good. If you aren’t sure whether or not to delete them permanently, consider the second option of deactivating them temporarily.
If you choose to Delete users, all of their personal data can no longer be accessed and the users will be anonymized in the analytics. This action cannot be undone. If that’s the route you want to take, follow the steps in this article. You can delete individual users or in bulk depending on your need. This will free up a license for another user permanently.
Deactivate a user from Showpad temporarily
You can deactivate a user temporarily if they are taking a leave of absence or have lost a device they used Showpad on. If the user is deactivated, anyone trying to access Showpad on their device will be asked to log in with their credentials, protecting your company from an unauthorized attempt.
Deactivating a user also frees up one of your Showpad licenses. You can keep the data from the old user on deck, but it will not be usable unless you reactivate it. But their data will still be available in the Online Platform when it comes to Shares and historical data. Think of it as locking their Showpad employee folder in a safe that only you have the code to. If you choose that option, follow the steps outline in this article.
Some important information about Shared Spaces: when deactivating a user, Shares they made will still be accessible for prospects. However, when you delete a user, Shares will no longer be available. If the deactivated user created any Shared Spaces, they will stay active for the other internal users if there is at least one other internal Showpad user in the space. However, external participants (customers or prospects) will no longer be able to view the Shared Space unless it has changed ownership to someone else. An active SharedSpace user can reassign their Shared Space to another active user if they know in advance they are leaving. Read how users can change ownership of Shared Spaces.
Single Sign-On and offboarding
It's also important to note that deactivating a user in their Identity Provider (such as Okta) may not be enough to deactivate them in Showpad.
These 3 provisioning options support deactivating users from an IdP. Click the links to learn more:
If you're not using one of the above 3 options, then you will have to deactivate the user from Showpad in addition to deactivating them in the IdP.
Please sign in to leave a comment.