What's in it for you
Once you've published a course, you have the flexibility to edit some aspects of the course but not all. The functionality to edit courses can be beneficial, particularly in the Learn modules, to adjust and add information after gathering feedback from managers and users. Below you will gain a better understanding of what can be edited after a course is published, section by section.
- Edit course elements
- Add to courses
- Maintain course integrity
You need this to succeed
- Admin access or promoted member permissions related to course content
- Published course(s)
The quick way to awesomeness
- Add content to a Learn module
- Add Learn or Test/Survey module
- You can edit the PitchIQ download settings and description
- Add and remove groups
- Edit the post-publish course invitation toggle
- Add new tasks and courses to a published Path
See how it's done
To edit a course after it's been published, navigate to the Courses & Paths tab under the Library and click into Courses.
In most cases, if you attempt to edit an aspect of a course that is unable to be changed after publication, the option is greyed out. A message might also appear when you hover over a section to let you know a feature cannot be changed.
In Course Setup, you have the flexibility to edit the following aspects after the course has been published:
- Course Title
- Course Owner
You cannot edit SCORM.
In the second step of Course Setup, Add Modules, you have the ability to add or delete a Learn module, add or delete a Test/Survey module, or delete a PitchIQ module. If the course has already been published without a PitchIQ or a Test/Survey, you cannot add one.
In the third step of Course Setup, Course Options, use the toggles to change any of the settings except Show Social and Pitch activity across groups. This option is only editable while the course is in development. To save any changes you've made, be sure to click Save when you're done.
In the second step of Course creation, you can edit and add to the Learn module. Here you can:
- Edit the permission toggles for Learn content
- Edit Learn content
- Edit and add new lessons and sections
In the first part of creating a test, you can edit all of the general options except the Mode. This means you cannot change the test from Survey to Exam or vice versa, but you can update items like the minimum passing score.
In the Build Test section, you cannot add or delete questions. This maintains the integrity of reporting, especially in the case that some learners have already completed a test. It's possible to edit questions and answers.
In the Certification section, you can edit the title and update the Send Certification toggle. Click Save when you're done. Users will be notified when a new course it created, but not when an existing course is edited.
In the PitchIQ Set up you can edit the pitch description, if downloads are allowed, and the Target Time. You cannot change the PitchIQ Type.
It is not possible to modify the PitchIQ panel or scoring settings once a course has been published.
When you're done editing the course, click Save.