What's in it for you
On May 25, 2018, the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation) will go into effect. These regulations change how companies deal with the personal data of people residing in the EU.
To assist our customers in becoming GDPR compliant, we will add flexibility to our Online Platform, mobile apps, email plugins, and integrations. You, as an administrator, can change these privacy settings according to where you are located.
Updated privacy options in Showpad's Online Platform
We make the privacy options more easy to find by splitting the current Disclaimer & Security tab. In the Security tab, you will find all password-related settings. The new Privacy tab handles the updated privacy configurations.
The steps Showpad takes to help you with your GDPR compliance program are built on the following pillars:
- Providing our customers with more granular control over the privacy settings
- Allowing active and informed consent from users and prospects
- Enabling an automatic right to be forgotten for prospects
- Logging of actions (e.g. deletions, consent,…)
To accommodate these options in our Online Platform, we will update the privacy settings with four tabs:
- User Settings
- Prospect Settings
- Data Agreement Specifics
See how it looks
Users and administrators who sign in to Showpad always have to give consent. This applies to the Online Platform, the Web app, our mobile apps, email plugins, and integrations. This is an option that cannot be altered in the Online Platform.
In User Settings, you configure login settings for your sales users. When enabling the Remember me feature, Showpad users can check a 'Remember Me' checkbox on the login screen of the Web app. When checked, the user automatically signs in to Showpad for up to 14 days, or until the user logs out of the platform.
Additionally, we move the option to anonymize user data to this tab. Anonymizing the user data means that in the Showpad reports, usernames aren't visible anymore. If you disable the anonymizing later, reports will still show anonymous user data up until the moment it was disabled.
Note: Before applying this option, sales reps need to be part of a user group.
Track Prospect Interactions
- No consent: The prospect won't see a dialog box to give consent. Consent will thus occur implicitly. The option is available for all regions but keep in mind that this option may not be legal in the territory where you are seeking to interact with the prospect.
Right to be Forgotten
The Right to be forgotten setting for prospects makes personal data and sharing activity anonymous after a period of inactivity. By default, the data will no longer be linked to a prospect after 24 months of inactivity. If the prospect interacts again with the shared content, the counter resets. You can modify the time to be forgotten.
Data Agreement Specifics
This tab links to a document that contains the latest overview of all Showpad sub-processors and an overview of all data categories processed by Showpad.
Note: Always check with your legal department what settings apply to your organization. For more information about Showpad's default policy, you can refer to this page.